Sunday Before Saturday (and race recap)

Hello all! I know I said I was going to fill you in on my exciting Saturday, but all my pics are at home, so I’m going to skip straight to Sunday. It was pretty exciting for me too. I had my first 5K in over a year. It was the America’s Run 2010 held at the new Cowboys stadium. I know, I know, a 5K is for weenies, but that’s exactly what I am when it comes to running! This will be long, so bear with me.

You all know I don’t like running, and after about 12 5Ks and 1 10K within an 8 month period of time, I finally excepted that fact. My last 5K was in March of 2009 and my time was 36:03. Yikes, but like I said, it was basically just for fun at that point.

Now flash forward to yesterday. I literally had not run outside since that last race day in 2009. Yes, I elliptical my little heart out everyday, but tell me to hit the pavement and I will laugh in your face. I just don’t enjoy it. Well, I’m happy to say that yesterday may have been a turn around for me!

On my way....

I did not prepare, no training, nothing and I would not suggest that to anyone looking to run in their first 5K, but again, I was just doing this for fun. BAsically I got to the race and just waited for the horn to blow and take off.

OK, OK, to make a long story short…too late, I actually did the best I’ve ever done! EVER! I RAN the entire race. (actually you would call what I do a slow jog). I’ve never gone an entire race without walking atleast a lil. Not this time, I trucked it the entore time and my legs never got tired. I could have kept on going. I was amazed at myself!

Here’s the kicker though. I have no official time, because I chose not to chip time. Oh well, I timed it on my stop watch and I clocked in somewhere around 33:30…I was ecstatic!Who knows…maybe I will start running in more races…maybe. Ok, Ok, enough with my rambling, lets get to the pics.

There were some important peeps there…Troy Aikman was running his 1st 1/2 marathon. Look at his bib number, how appropriate. hehe

You go Troy!

The Dallas Cowboys cheerleaders were there to get the party started!

Shake what yo mama gave ya!

Jay Johnson’s bootcamp was also there to get all the runners warmed up and ready to run.

Drop and give me 20!

The half marathon started at 7:30am. The 5K was at 8am. Here are the half marathoners at the starting line.

On you mark...get set...GO!

And they’re off…

Half marathoners, or as I like to call them, "crazy people".

Local DJ, Kellie Rasberry, from Kidd Kraddick In The Morning,  was running her first 5K. Go Kellie!

Giving a lil pep talk before the race.

Before the race started, i shoved a couple of these Honey Stinger Organic Energy Chews in my mouth.

Hopin for some energy.

I think listening to my Body Pump music helped me stay motivated. I was just doing Pump inmy head the whole time not even thinking about running. lol. Hey, whatever works, right? Around mile 1 we were next to the Ballpark. I tried to snap a pic, but didn’t want to stop and loose my groove. It’s all blurry.

Ballpark at Arlington

After attempt, I just decided to not take anymore pics till the finish line.

I really enjoyed this course, and the weather was perfect.

The finish line was right on the 50 yard line of the Cowboys field. AWESOME! And when you ran across, you were onthe humongo jumbotron screen for everyone to see. Here is nearing the end of the race, running down the tunnel to the stadium.

Almost done!

I liked that the ending was downhill. hehe. Here is approaching the finish line.

WOOHOOO!

I stopped my timer as soon as I came over the finish line. It was somewhere between 33:30 and 34. I didn’t get to snap a pic, becasue I accidentally hit it again and it started timing again. POOOOHHH! I swear that was my time though. I wouldn’t lie about 34 minutes. If I were gonna lie, it would be way better than that.

YIKES! I'ma hot sweaty mess!

I didn’t stick around on the field too long. I headed up stairs to grab a quick bite.

CARBS!

Of course, there were all the usuals. CARBS GALORE! Muffins, enery and granola bars, mini bagels, yogurt, bananas, oranges, apples, etc. I grabbed a mini bagel and ate half and half a banana. Thre was also live music.

The Beatles...kinda.

And to top it off, everyone got a medal!

I'm a winner, even though I didn't win. Maybe I'm just a weiner. hehe

The funny part…all the medals say “half marathon finisher”. WTH. Oh well. They gave them to everyone.

I can always SAY I did a half marathon.

Like I said, my legs, amazingly, were not tired at all. I felt as if I coulda have gone on and on. Maybe Iwill tackle a few more 5K’s and then give another 10K a shot. WHo knows. I never thought I would say this, but maybe I’ve turned my relationship with running around.

I had to get home and rest a lil because I had to teach Body Pump that afternoon. I had an awesome Pump class, and flew right threw it like it was nothing. Crazy, right?!? I swear this Power Balanace band I got at the fitness expo (will give more update when I post my Saturday shenanigans) is really working for me!

Does anyone else endorse the Power Balance band? Do you believe, or is it all mental?

Honestly, be it real or mental, I don’t care, i like it and it works for me so I will keep praising it’s glory. hehe.

Aftre pump, I relaxed on my hammock for over an hour, reading and just relaxing. I hadn’t really eaten anything all day, which is horrible, but I wasn’t hungry! I finally pulled some red beans and rice outa the pantry and cooked it up.

red beans and rice

This was really good, but a bit salty. I’m feeling the sodium overload this morning.

Well, that concludes my excitement filled Sunday. Come back later and read about my Saturday! There was lots going on.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicci@NiftyEats
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 18:27:13

    Congrats on a great race, I need to get my booty out there and run

    Reply

  2. Erica
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 18:33:25

    Hey girlie! First off- recipe: http://itzyskitchen.blogspot.com/2009/08/chickpea-burgers.html

    Second: CONGRATS ON THE RACE!!!!! That is wonderful. Way to rock it 🙂

    Reply

  3. Vee
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 08:45:52

    Congrats on the race. I ran my 5k race on Sunday and guess what: I listen to my BodyPump music too! How funny is that! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

shakeology

