Just Beet It+Veggie Pasta Bake

Happy Good Friday bloggies!!! I’ve managed to get a little done this morning, if you can believe that! I need to get my  oil changed DESPERATELY! But, OMG, it is like an all day ordeal taking it to the dealership. I only take my car to the dealership for maintenance because I’ve had NIGHTMARE experiences taking my vehicles to those quickie lube type places (no offense to Quickie Lube, that’s not where I had bad experiences, it was just the first name that popped in my head). Anywho, I thought I’d scope out the situation before entering into a 3 hour waste of my day off. The situation was not good. Guess everyone else was using their Good Friday to get their oil changed to….I kept driving.

Do you take your vehicle to the dealership for maintenace? Even there, I’ve had bad things happen…how bout they wreck your car pulling it around. Yep, I have the worst luck with stuff like that. Oh well, they had to fix it.

Enough of all that drama 😉 Lets back up to yesterday and all my shenanigans! I started out with a Brown Cow Greek Yogurt for breakfast.

Greeky

I added a dollop of  Burleson Honey to make it extra sweet.

Perfection

Between working, working and more working and packing, packing and more packing, I managed to squeeze in a soup lunch break.

SHeeeesh... Hate moving!

Like I said yesterday, I had a kitchen experiment in mind for tonight! Asparagus Pasta Bake, courtesy of Itzy’s Kitchen. You know me, I can never follow a recipe exactly, I always have to make it my own by adding in lil things here and there. Here is everything I used…minus some parm I threw in in the heat of the moment 😉

Pasta sauce, lowfat ricotta, lowfat mozza, whole grain pasta, chopped spinach, asparagus, broccoli and onion

I put about half of the box of pasta on to cook, then added the asparagus 2 minutes before removing from heat and draining. While that was cooking, I combined a lil over half of the jar of sauce, half of the ricotta, spinach, broccoli, onion and I added in a lil parm for giggles. Mix thoroughly.

Mixin', mixin'

Once the pasta is cooked and drained, add in with the sauce mixture.

Pasta, sauce and veggies

YOu can season the mixture with whatever  you want, salt, pepper, etc. I sprayed a loaf pan (my bigger pan broke, but I managed to squeeze it all in here) with nonstick cooking spray, then layered the mixture with thin sprinkles of lowfat mozza. I would put a small layer of mix, sprinkle of cheese and repeat till complete.

Ready to get its bake on...

layerey

I shoved this cheesey-layered, veggie-stuffed bad boy in the oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

While that was getting its bake on, I ran upstairs and hopped, skipped and jumped on the elliptical. Afer 30 minutes, I ran downstairs, removed my masterpiece from the oven, then returned for another 15 minutes of sweaty cardio madness. 45 minutes in all.

Amazeballz

I had a few pieces of asparagus left so I decided to throw those on the Foreman along with some canned beets I drained and rinsed. I have been wanting to try beets in a salad, so I figured I would seize the moment.

Beets a grillin'.

Here is the final presentation of maximum goodness…

Pasta bake and asparagus

SPinach, beets, onion, feta, lowfat mozza.

ANd carrots on that salad too. This meal was amazing! Thank you Erica for the Pasta Bake recipe. I kinda sorta stuck to it. YUM!

Well, I don’t want to bombard you with too much of my nonsense, too late, so I’m gonna leave you with that. I have been doing a little around this hella house and I have Pump practice tonight. Did I mention that I got upgraded, that’s what I call it, to doing warm up and chest in the 73 launch! I was originally doing warmup and cooldown, but I’ve been asked to teach chest too! It’s a killer!

Hope you all have a GOOD FRIDAY!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Learning to be Less
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 19:01:39

    Dinner looks good. Except for the beets, yuck! I guess if you don’t eat meat you are more willing to eat weird veggies.

    Congrats on the pump launch. When will it be?

    Reply

    • Heather @ For The Health Of It!
      Apr 02, 2010 @ 19:16:07

      How can you not like beets??? They’re so perdy. hehe. Launch is on Monday the 19th. You better bet there missy 🙂

      Reply

      • Learning to be Less
        Apr 04, 2010 @ 03:51:51

        Beets. Uh. Couldn’t pay me to eat them. I bet you would like Dwight Shrute’s beet farm. I hear it is all-inclusive.

        Monday the 19th, huh. I could probably get that in. 5:30? Someone must be there to heckle the instructors.

  2. Erica
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 20:56:39

    ahhhhhhhhhh! Love that you made it! ❤ you girly. Love your changes too. Congrats on the upgrade! The chest track IS a killer- those 16 singles at the end…gah! Fabulous release. Enjoy your weekend

    Reply

Leave a Reply

shakeology

