Tasty Tempeh

Good morning blog land! THis time change is really kicking my rear. I think when I get home today I will head straight to the bed. I always say that, then never do it. Ugh. I need to make a point of it tonight.

Is anyone else feeling the time change?

Well, I was originally s upposed to head to Conn’s to purchase the washer/dryer last night after work, but I ended up not going. I guess I will have to do that today before I head home to hit the sack. Instead, last night, I went home and knocked out a pretty good workout. Same scenario, everything is done for time, except the elliptical.

5 minutes elliptical

50 bicep curls, 20lbs

50 jump squats

50 tricep extensions, 20lbs

50 crunches, I changed my abs everytime I did it. Sometimes I would do leg extensions, etc. Need to find a good one.

Do all of this 3 times. I finished in like 27 minutes I think. THen I did another 35 minutes onthe elliptical. It was a good workout. Thought I would be sore today, but no such luck.

I was in the experimenting mood for eatz and I bought some Lightlife Organic tempeh over the weekend, so I figured I’d give it a try.

Tempeh

I’ve never used tempeh. Always see it at the store, but never bought it. I think it’s safe to say I will definately be eating it in the future. Besides being so versatile and tasting good, check out these stats.

Amazing!

24 grams of fiber and 44 grams of protien for the entire package. WOW! And only 20 mg of sodium.

I wasn’t sure what to do with it, but the package said you could pan fry it, so that’s kinda what I did. I decided to kind of do a lil Mexican type stir fry. I sauteed chopped fresh jalapeno, onion and mushroom to start.

For starters

Once this mixture was lookin pretty good, I sliced my tempeh in strips and added it in, along with my fave seasoning, sazon goya!

It's getting there.

I let this cook up for a while until I could see the tempeh browning. I turned the heat down to low and added in the rest of the spinach I had in the fridge. I wasn’t planning on using it originally, but you know me. I saw it in fridge, knew it needed to be used before going bad, so decided to toss it in.

Final touch.

It didn’t take long for the spinach to wilt and the masterpiece was final. While all this was goin on ,I also threw the rest of my asparagus on the George Foreman to grill.

Grillin', grillin'.

 Yumm. This was so easy and turned out perfect. WIll be grilling veggies more often on the Foreman.

Perfect!

I finished off my plate with half an avacado and some light sourcream.

All done!

I really enjoyed this meal. I will be using tempeh more often for sure.

Does anyone else like tempeh? Any good recipe ideas out there?

I ate while catching up with my good friend Kendra. It’s been ages since I’ve seen her. hehe.

Go Kendra! Go Kendra!

I just love this girl! SHe cracks me up! And Frank, he’s a doll. hehe

Any other Kendra lovers out there?

Ok, bloggys, I’m off to workland. Be good!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Princess
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 23:32:52

    I love her too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

shakeology

