The Monster Experiment

It’s Tuesday yall! Yippeeee! Ok, really, I’m not that excited. I have got TONS of work to do. It’s like it all just piled on in the past week. WTH. I’m not complaining, believe me, I’ m glad! Job security!

Sooo, when I got home yesterday I decided I wanted to do a lil experiment. A green monster experiment. Ok, really, it’s not some big mind blowing idea, but in my lil brain, I was excited. I wanted to make green monsters, freeze them and see how they would taste after thawing them overnight for the next day.

Tell me I’m not mofo Einstein! For realz. Here is what I used.

Almond Breeze, spinach, PB, vanilla protein powder, flax seed, frozen banana and some funky pineapple

3 handfuls of spinach

about 1 3/4 cup of Almond Breeze Unsweetened Vanilla

2 big spoonfuls of peanut butter

1 1/2 scoops Optimum Nutrition 100% Gold Standard Whey Protein Powder, Vanilla Ice Cream flavor

3 spoonfuls of milled flaxseed

1 1/2 frozen bananas

And I had some funky pineapple that was on it’s last leg, so I put in 3 slices.

I'm not skeered.

Toss all this in the trusty blender…

Looks tasty, don't it?

And do your thang!

Soooo greeny.

Tell me that don’t look apetizing! Holy schmolly yumballz!

I then distributed it evenly between to bottle thingys.

Ready to freeze...

THe next big project to tackle was finding a spot in the freezer! Oh dear.

Yes, this is my freezer. It's redonkulous. I don't deny it.

Anyone else have freezer/fridge overload issues? And we’ve got another one inthe garage that’s full too! Sad.

Luckily, I was able to do some rearranging and found a lil spot they fit perfect in. I will take one out this afternoon and start the thawing process. Hopefully it will be completely thanwed in the morning. We’ll see. It’s a learning process, you know.

I had a case of the sniffles and wasn’t feeling 100% so we ended up not going to my nephews baseball game. It was still cold and yucky out. They ended up winning though, 11 to 5. Congrats Dalton!

That's him out there, struttin his stuff..

 They played at the Rangers Ballpark, so that was really cool.

I did a lil workout upstairs. Elliptical and I’m learning some new tracks for Body Pump, so I practiced those. I’m team teaching with Christy again on Friday night, then I teach again Saturday monring, then next Friday and Sunday! Whew! That’s alot for me. I likey!

I had thawed out a bag of tilapia and knew I had better use it, so I was thinking, blackened…mmmm…..I mixed all of these spices together. (I’m so technical with my recipe directions, aren’t I? lol)

Spicy!

Then coated each fillet thoroughly with the mixture.

Here fishy, fishy, fishy, fishy.

I heated up a skillet with cooking spray, then cooked each fillet a couple of minutes on each side. Note to self, I really need to get a cast iron skillet. That’s sad, right.

Cook on one side...

Then give ’em a flippy flop…

Then cook on the other.

I did have to spray more cooking spray between each fishy turn. But I didn’t use any butter or oil. SO it was super low calorie and fat. AND SUPER DELICIOUS TOO!

I laid it on top of a bed of the last of my fresh spinach, then topped with the last of my black bean salsa mixture and sprinkled with the last of my feta. I finished a lot of stuff in this meal.

Pretty too, huh?

It was really, really good. I also had a glass of Pinot along side.

My fave

Ok, so I’ma make a promise, and you know if I put it out there on the internets, I have to stick with it. Right? I am going to make myself get up an extra 45 minutes early every morning and get extra cardio time in. I’ve got to do this. I know it will give me that extra umph I need to step up my workouts.

Anyone else wanna make this commitment with me? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller?

Oh, and another. No more wine on school nights! Let’s see if I can stick with this one….

I’m outy for now!

Leave a Reply

shakeology

