Tex-Mex Steamed Tilapia

Happy Tuesday people! The weather here is crazy  again today. Lotsa snow flurries. I just knew they would close our office…not exactly. Oh well, I’ll live. Hope everyone had a fabulous Monday night. Mine was good. I made an awesome dinner.

Yesterday for breakfast I had a Greek Gods Greek Yogurt with half of a  Luna Caramel Nut Brownie bar crumbled on top and an agave nectar straw drizzled on top. And coffee.

Caramel Nut Brownie

Breakfast!

It was really good. That was my last Greek Yogurt though. Guess I need to make a trip back to Sprout’s.

I am really busy at work, so I was working like a mad woman all day, and I still have tons more to do. For lunch I had the leftovers of my grilled veggies and a cup of chipotle chedder soup.

Just as good the second day.

After work I had a few errands to run and didn’t get home till almost 7pm. I hate that. I wanted to go to the gym, but I knew I wouldn’t make it there in time, so I just workedout at home. Elliptical, duh and some weights.

Now comes the good part. I had thawed out some tilapia in the fridge overnight, but had no idea what I was going to do with it. Then my wheels started turning. hehe.

What can I do with you???

I knew I needed to use the veggies I still had left from SUnday.

Ummm, you better not let me go to waste.

And I also had some fresh blackbean salsa that needed to be used. All of this combined got me thinking Tex-Mex. So I grabbed my trusty go to seasoning. Sazon Goya!

It makes everything better!

I chopped 2 of my zucchini, one of my bell peppers and half my onion combined this and my tilapia, along with my cooking spray, seasoning, salt, pepper, garlic and jalapenos to a steam bag and shook it up to get it all coated. No butter or oil at all! Pretty good, huh.

Ready for the microwave.

Looking back, I should have put some hot sauce (like Louisiana hot sauce or tabasco) to this, but I was fresh out.

I steamed in the microwave for about 6-7 minutes.

I put my tilapia mixture on a bed of fresh chopped spinach, edemame and mozzarella, and topped with a lil lowfat sour cream and my fresh black bean salsa.

Perfection!

For not having a clue what I was going to make, this turned out fantastico! Love it when that happens! Jackpot!

Hope you all have a wonderful day! I’ll be back later.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 17:21:43

    What a great idea…that meal looks so good! I love the colors! I am such a sucker for a colorful plate! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

shakeology

