Veggie Loaf!

One day down and only 2 more till MARDI GRAS!!!! Yippeeeee! After work yesterday I headed to Party City to pick up some Mardi Gras supplies. I got lotsa goodies!

Sooo much fun!

I will have to start packing tonight so I can get all my “props” set aside. I love girls trips!

Anyone else got Mardi Gras plans??? Super bowl plans???

We will be back just in time for the big game. Go Saints!

While checking a few of my fave blogs yesterday I came this recipe from Nicci at Nifty Eats…Veggie Loaf! I knew I had to make it.

Now serving...

I didn’t follow her recipe exactly, but did use it as a base. I added in a lot of my own things too. Here is what all I used (excluding the spices, salt, pepper, garlic, italian seasoning, etc).

That's a lot of stuff, but don't let it fool you. It is SUPER easy to make!

Okay, lets see…what all do I have here. Also, you must know, I rarely measure anything. I just toss it in and go.

-a splash of egg whites

-a handful of chopped spinach

-3/4 of chopped onion (that’s all I had leftover)

-1 small green zucchini that I shredded

-about 1 1/2 cups of frozen veggie mix (carrots, peas, green beans and corn) that I thawed in the microwave

-about a half cup of prepared brown rice

-bout a tablespoon of BBQ sauce

-there are mushrooms here, but I didn’t use them

-about a cup of oats

-half cup of bread crumbs

You just mix this  (with your hands) in a big bowl with salt,  pepper, and any other seasonings you want.

Looks yummy, don't it??? hehe

 Then throw it in a loaf pan…

Ready to cook!

Cover with foil and bake at 375 degrees. Nifty Eats recipe says 30 minutes, mine however took more like 45 minutes. About 30 minutes in I spread some ketchup on top. And about 5 minutes till it was done, I removed the foil and let it broil to get the top crispy.

YUMMMY!!!!!

I have to say, it was quite amazing! Even the hubs agreed. He just tried a bite. Next time I may even put some black beans in it. You can pretty much throw whatever you want in it.

Voila!

For my workout I did about half of a turbo kick session and 30 minutes on the elliptical. I’ma really need to step it up these next 2 days before I head outa town. I hate not excercising on vaca.

This morning for breakfast I had a grapefruit drizzled with hone and microwaved for about 40 seconds.

Citrus-eeee

I love grapefruit, but it can be difficult and messy to eat. Hmmm. Ok, now on to work and everything else this day holds. Hope you have a wonderful one!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Foodie Diaries
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 22:05:56

    that loaf sounds amaazing!!

    Reply

  2. Nicci@NiftyEats
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 02:45:49

    Glad you liked the Loaf, it’s so good with the ketchup smothered on top!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

shakeology

