Simple Thursday

Yep, that pretty much sums it up. No whacked out cooking tonight. lol. Here’s pretty much how my evening played out…

Got home and decided to make my  long awaited hummus. Made the roasted red pepper again, but I added garlic and red pepper flakes this time. Here is kinda the process.

First put one can of chickpeas (drained and liquid reserved) in food processor, with a splash of EVOO, salt, pepper and a splash of the reserved liquid…

10 22 001

Pulse until blended. THen add in your ingredients. Mine was roasted red peppers (patted dry), 5 garlic cloves and red pepper flakes. Add a lil more liquid and pulse until smooth…

10 22 002

Finale…

Perfecto!

Perfecto!

After that I had to skeedattle to get to PUMP. Me and Colleen rocked it out teaching for Christy. GREAT workout! For some reason, it’s easier for me when I’m teaching rather than participating. Weird, but good. I guess my mind is concentrating on teaching so it takes away from the (feel soo good) hurt.

I made a quickie in the grocery store and was on my way home. I made the decision earlier to just make it a greek salad kinda night. No crazy concoctions. I decided to go ahead and chop up my veggies I had bought and replenish my healthy snacking stash before making my salad. I chopped carrots, broccoli and cucumber…

You know I love to chop!!!!

You know I love to chop!!!!

Does anyone else love to chop???? Come on, show me some love!

I also got my children their fave treat at the store…

10 22 004

THey’re so spoiled!

Oh, and some more fresh flowers! Again, clearance, $2!

Perdy...and cheap. Me likey!

Perdy...and cheap. Me likey!

I wanted grilled eggplant on my salad so I busted out the GF (George FOreman) again and grilled away.

10 22 009

My very generous coworker WEndy gave me a pineapple today! Yesterday it was grapes, today a pineapple! Geez! Thanks Wendy! I decided to slice it up and throw it on the grill too…

Grilled pinapple with ginger...yummm!

Grilled pinapple with ginger...yummm!

Here’s my final salad masterpiece…

A lil bit of everything!

A lil bit of everything!

This salad had spinach, cabbage, carrots, edamame, onion, cukes, mushroom, low fat feta, goat cheese, grilled eggplant and balsamic vinegar. YUM!

Soo glad tamale is Friday! THis week flew by! I teach my first full body pump class on Saturday morning..all by my self! I’m ready! I got this. lol. Then I’m heading to G-town (Groesbeck, my hometown, about 90 minutes South of me) to hang w/my hometown homies! My friends reserved the bar at one of the 2 only mexican restaurants in town for a girls only Cowboy Party. FUN! Can’t wait to see my friends and fam! Always a blast!

OK, gotta git! Gotta watch some ghetto throw down on finale of Housewives Atlanta!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erica
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 16:09:31

    Good luck on Saturday! I’m sure you’ll kick major booty! I agree- its easier to finish the class when your teaching for some reason (I think because your mind is watching the participants to make sure they’re ok/doing things right and you also feel like you just gotta do it…so you do!). YUMMMY- I loved grilled eggplant and pineapple- fantastic!

    Reply

  2. Menden @ Skinny Menny
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 16:59:22

    The only time I ever tried to make homemade hummus I killed my food processor (like, smoking pouring out of it, killed it). Maybe I should try again? You make it look easy! 🙂

    Have a blast this weekend, girl! Sounds like fun – and good luck with your solo class, woot woot!!

    Reply

    • hrmeredith1
      Oct 23, 2009 @ 18:52:57

      It’s ridiculous how easy it is. I had never made it before and just decided to try and it worked. So now I’m addicted. Seriously takes less than 2 minutes.

      Reply

  3. Naomi (onefitfoodie)
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 18:13:22

    so much good food here where do i begin!!! first the homemade hummuis looks fantastic!!! I love making it myself! have you ever made babaganoush?? its made with eggplant-SO good!

    I used to get those for my doggie, before he passed away last year 😦 so sad, but he loveed those frosty paws!!

    grilled pinnaple is SOOO good!!!

    Reply

  4. Flowers
    Oct 24, 2009 @ 14:42:12

    Your blog is quite mouth watering. Grilled pinapple with ginger looks yummy. enjoyed it very much. keep it up the good work. cheers 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

shakeology

