It’s A Squashy Kinda Night

I cooked with lotsa SQUASH tonight! Green, yellow, acorn..yeah. all of it. I totally went nutso in the Target produce department today! Here’s what I got…

Clementines, limes, turnips, egplant, onion, acorn squash, carrot, banana, cucumber and garlic!

Clementines, limes, turnips, egplant, onion, acorn squash, carrot, banana, cucumber and garlic!

all the usuals, plus some! Atleast for me, because I’m the only one that eats them in my house! Here were the stars though, 2 things I’ve never cooked with…

Crazy talk!

Crazy talk!

Turnips and acorn squash! I’m not worried about the squash, but pretty clueless with the turnips!

It’s obviousley gonna be a crazy “what we gotta use” kinda night in the kitchen, so here’s what’s on the list…

Yellow and green zucchini squah, lowfat cottage cheese and green apples...WTH?!?!

Yellow and green zucchini squah, lowfat cottage cheese and green apples...WTH?!?!

What the hizzy?!?!

Of course my crazy brain thought up some nutty concoction….acorn squash stuffed with sauteed veggies (green and yellow squash, mushrooms and onions) black beans and cottage cheese. WOW. Evens sounds crazy to me!

I first prepard the squash by microwaving for 1 minute, then halfing, taking seeds out and then mocrowaving for another 12 minutes face down in microweable dish 1/4 cup of water,  until tender.

I sauteeed the green, yellow squash, onion, mushroom and then added the black beans…

I heart beans!

I heart beans!

then the cottage cheese…

10 21 008

I cooked for awhile because it was way more runny than I had thought it would be. Then filled my squash halfs with the mixture and sauce.

Total YUMMMM!!!

Total YUMMMM!!!

Had a spinach, green, yellow squash, onion, mushroom green apple (i didn’t forget to use it!)  and chickpea salad on the side with balsamic vinegar.

I heart greens!

I heart greens!

 Wow, all in all, it was a great din din!

What are some of the craziest food inventions you’ve come up with??? Obviousley, I have a lot!

Challenge me mofos! I’m  not skeered to mix anything!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lish
    Oct 22, 2009 @ 05:28:55

    Um…yeah I don’t know if I’ll be trying this one Heather. I’m just not as adventurous as you. Tonight I made the HG Alfredo sauce with whole wheat pasta, spinach, and grilled chicken.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

shakeology

